Struggling to Come Up with Story Ideas

As a young journalist, one of my greatest challenges is coming up with story ideas. I don’t know why, but it just seems so hard a difficult. It seems like everything I can think of is either not newsworthy enough or I can’t gain access. It just sucks to be honest.

Surely I can’t be the only aspiring journalist in this situation, but at times it seems like I’m the only one. I will sit for hours at a time surfing the web and searching local events to try to come up with a story idea and wind up with absolutely nothing, except for clumps of hair. Am I looking to hard? Am I looking in the wrong spots?

I literally have this on my mind at all times. I have two assignments coming up and I’m having such a difficult time coming up with ideas. Driving home from work I think about what I can do. Driving home from school I think about a story I can do. Walking to class it’s on my mind. It is always on my mind, but I just don’t have a clue on what to do. How do professional journalists seem to have stories fall into their laps? I know that a lot of hard work goes into researching those stories, so I’m exaggerating about them falling into their laps, but seriously it seems so easy for them to come up with good stories. What am I missing?

One of the most helpful sites I’ve found though was Experience Columbus. It organizes all the events going on in Columbus and separates them into categories. I’m thankful for that site, but really that’s not all I can rely on. I have to get over this bugaboo if I want to be a successful journalist, I realize that. The problem is, I don’t know how.

Leave a Reply

